I miss AIM Profiles.

As some of you might know, I have decided to deactivate my facebook. At first I did it to help with my study ethic during finals week, but eventually, I guess I just stuck with it. At the start of vacation, I spent a little over a week in New York City with my family, and I thought keeping facebook on hold might prolong the time and energy I devoted to family building. I can reasonably say that was a great decision. I’ve been back a little over 2 weeks now and I still haven’t reactivated my account. Strange. I really wanted to, but I promised myself I would have good reason before I would do so. Did I want to spend time catching up on all the most recent winter break photo album uploads? Or maybe I was craving some attention that would be signaled by the little red notification box in the bottom right corner. Maybe I was hoping to catch up on all the events I wasn’t invited to. All this got me thinking. What do I need facebook for? Well, there are actually two parts to that question; one is “I” and the other is “need”. So, who am “I”? Who I am is defined by how people see me, but to be more specific, it’s about how I want others to see me. You know, in high school, everyone is something, at term, a name, a clique. Some of my friends were christians, or geeks, or maybe just loners, but don’t get me wrong; most of them were just dorks. When you leave high school, you get a fresh start in college. Then when you leave college, you get another clean slate. All the time, everyday, every moment, you are what you want to be. Well, sometimes I used to edit my AIM profile to say something cool, with cool quotes, or maybe the date that I first started seeing someone, because I wanted to make my profile special. I wanted to be special, and of course, knowing that is a hard trend to break, I still do. So, thats what I think “I” am. I am whatever I want myself to be. Next off, what do I need? Need is a choice, isn’t it? You only need what you think you need, what your body might tell you you need, or what your parents tell you what you need, but isn’t it all just a choice in the end?

So here’s my conclusion. I have mixed feelings about facebook. Its usefulness, or its general appearance, and also its existence. I am who I want to be, not what my AIM and facebook profiles say about. What I need, is someone to agree with me. zip.

4 thoughts on “I miss AIM Profiles.

  1. ClumsyMaria January 14, 2010 / 2:22 pm

    i think most things that we have aren’t really “needs” but “wants”but i guess after a while, we get so used to it that we can’t really differentiate between the two?

  2. shamuta_takinglives January 17, 2010 / 7:27 pm

    awe….that makes me kinda sad that I won’t be able to communicate with you through facebook, but if you would really like to deactivate the account then I guess I would be ok with it….lol although you need to tell the other ppl on facebook that 😛

  3. khiyura January 21, 2010 / 2:51 pm

    you are correct.  you are who you think you are!  thats why when people think they are worthless they end up giving off this vibe of hopelessness and sadness.  and when people are confident they give off an air of confidence.  really, i think all we “need” is physical sustenance (food & sleep essentially) and jesus.i dont  think you NEED facebook, and it is a good idea to not have it.  it takes over alot of other things we should be doing, and i think many of us practice a “gluttony” of facebook in a sense.  on the other hand, my only argument for fb, is that it is convenient.  it allows us to stay more connected to each other and to invite each other to events without having to call up all 20 people or whatnot.  and look at other people’s pictures (which i personally enjoy) since everything is digital now.i think if you reach a point where you wont feel like you wont indulge in facebook, then i would say just reactivate it and check it like once a week, just to see whats going on.  and during the rest of the week, just dont bother with it.

  4. derek3134 February 24, 2010 / 1:48 pm

    and once again, wenet you were correct. 🙂 I reactivated the account, but solely for other reasons.

Leave a Reply

