Father and Son

I’m currently studying at the EDMS working on my microbiology lab. Tonight, I need to call my best friend, fill out my exec team application, and do as much of my homework as possible before the week is over. Something has caught my eye. Over at another computer work station is a father and son discussing the work that his son has to finish for his current classes. The dad is maybe in his 50s and the son is probably around my age. They’re probably fobs just based off of appearance, and after an incursion with the front desk discussing american references such as ‘go fish’, I am almost 100% sure. This sight is just really really pleasant, but even more so, encouraging. I have this urge to walk up behind them and monitor them like my psychology teacher does about every time I have class. They speak somewhat a somewhat broken english, but communicate with each other like a real father and son. The dad just seems really really giddy and happy. The son isn’t bothered that his dad is with him at a college campus, possibly embarrassing him in front of twenty other college students. I just can’t stop staring. It’s just really cool how they can connect like that.

Ok, they just left now and I’m trying to take in what this all means. I wish I could be that proud of my parents. I mean, I am not discouraged by or ashamed of them, but I’m definitely not as appreciative or respectful of them as I should be. This is really great though; a great reminder for this weekend. I’m planning to go back to houston for this chinese new year/valentines day weekend, and I’m super excited for the chance. I know my parents will be as thrilled as I am to see them, but I have to give praise to the other Father who is reminding me of the importance of family at this very moment. At the same time, I have to give an utmost respect to God for this vision of filial happiness just days before I get the chance to go home. Regardless, I still hope my real dad doesn’t embarrass me when we go out. Haha.

3 thoughts on “Father and Son

  1. Fat_P3NGU1N February 8, 2010 / 11:30 pm

    Aww…I’m glad you’re starting to appreciate your family more and more. I think it’s one of the best things about growing up. 🙂

  2. khiyura February 9, 2010 / 12:05 am

    yay! i was at the edms earlier too. missed each other 

  3. whirlytwirly February 9, 2010 / 11:54 am

    super encouraging, derek! thank you. have a wonderful new year’s with the rents 🙂

Leave a Reply

