Getting Closer or Getting By

I know it’s late, but I figure if I don’t let my thoughts out on paper, my mind will not stop pacing, and my thoughts will not subside. Here it goes;

Recently, one of my friends, who shall remain unnamed, mentioned to me how hard it is to be satisfied simply in Christ. He was going on about how easy it is to simply seek worldly things, whether it was the immediate comfort of another companion or an activities that we partake in to distract ourselves from the ongoing chaos of our lives. Life isn’t simple. I even feel guilty talking about this when, in a world away, there are people who are battling tragic natural disasters and suffering from real problems. Being satisfied in God; it’s a really easy conclusive concept, isn’t it? But, of course, like all things spiritual and Godly, hard to live out.

My friend reminded me a lot of how I handle the relationships I have, or at least one in particular that I have had trouble maintaining (not the friend who reminded me of the other friend). Here’s the backdrop: I really enjoy spending time with this other person, and I think that he and I click very well and enjoy the company of one another. The only thing is, this beneficial fellowship that we have isn’t consistent. One moment, everything is going perfectly fine, and then another minute later, my hourglass has been flipped upside down. If our relationship represented a person’s circadian rhythm, that person would never get any sleep due to the confusion in their psychological and biochemical processes. I don’t particularly know why it is so hard to get along with him, but I do know that this is a friendship worth pursuing. I have to question whether or not this is a relationship that Jesus wants me to pursue. The way things have been going, the chaos will never subside. This isn’t one person’s fault; relationships are two-way streets. Reflecting on this friendship reminds me that I can get caught up in something so simple. This relationship may or may not be there in a year, but I know the marriage I have to Christ will never subside. That’s the important part right? Focus on Him, and make His heart your own? I think I’m getting better at the latter. I think things are changing within me and the process will be continually slow.

Another thing I have to realize is I must stop expecting others to ask how I’m doing. Stop expecting people to minister to me, whether through prayer or comfort. I guess this is an important step for myself in order to shed some dependence. Chances are they don’t care or unaware, but it’s ok. Haha I don’t intend for this to come off negatively or apathetic. Depending on God in Your Life’s Daily Journey.

Jeremiah 17:7-8
7 “But blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, whose confidence is in him. 8 He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

So, get closer to him, or get closer to Him? Get by this relationship, or get to God?

One thought on “Getting Closer or Getting By

  1. whee March 1, 2010 / 2:59 pm

    get in the relationship THROUGH and WITH God by faith!  And if you may lend an ear, i’m just going to tell you that i’m going through something similar as well.  It was only recently, when someone brought something up, that i began to see what i was getting out of this friendship i had with one of my friends. Surely, i thought it was a selfish thought in itself.  I do not know of a fine line, yet(if there is one), when Jesus tells me to cut off a relationship or perhaps calls us to weigh the benefits of what i was getting out of my friendships. Perhaps if that was the case, Christ would’ve probably given up on us before we even got a chance to wonder what happened. (and THANK GOD that is he is a God of love, in which that giving us up would be something that doesn’t even cross his mind.) And I cannot tell you enough just how similar of your this trial you’re going through is as similar as mine ( frankly, i’m baffled by this. But God always tend to do this lol. perhaps letting you and me know that we’re not alone in this.) But often I feel rather mentally drained, as this similar stiuation of mine had somehow taken a toll on my spiritual, mental, and perhaps physical aspect of me as well.  And with no doubts, I agree that a relationship is a two-way street.  I often find myself questioning if there was more I could do for my friend. if this was a genuine friendship, what does it look like? What are we lacking? and frankly, do i even know what it looks like? But sadly, I feel like a chasm grew between the both of us over this semester as my reluctance to talk to her and her personality to close people off.  I am often left with a realization that I must let the Word overflow out of my heart.  I do not know how to deal with this.  But in faith, I go into the Word knowing that Christ has demonstrated and knows everything I’m going through. And that He knows exactly how to deal with these things, and will reveal it to us when we seek after Him.  And often, we must empty ourselves with our own reasoning and outside influence about how to face things like this.  We must empty ourselves so that Christ can fill us with what is of Him. What is of His Father. What is of love.  and Derek, your expectation that people are to ask about your favorite color, your day, or how you’re feeling is not in vain.  I believe that it is a longing for a Love that has been terribly mislead by the world.  We are beings created to feel love, and to display it as an overflow of what the love felt. Surely, the Bible all the more shouts aloud our true state; we are weak, lost, broken, and confused. and for SURE that we need God more than … we need legs to stand (ok not too epic of an analogy). dependence on God is something we realize we must have.  But perhaps, in Ephesians 3:20, says how God’s household is built on the foundationof the disciples of Jesus with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone… and in EPH 3 10, that God’s intent was that through the CHURCH, God will be made known.  Your expectation of the church caring for the church is not anything short of what God intended for a church to be.  Perhaps, you are expecting a community that reaches out for you before you reach out to them. One that pursues and wants to pursue your interests because frankly, they’re interested in you as a brother or sister in Christ. One that is interested in the Christ in you.  One that is interested in you BECAUSE you are you. A community, or person, that lets you know you are wanted. One that takes pure interest in your passions, your thoughts, your struggles just because they are YOURS.   and GOD. IS. ALL. THAT.  and the CHURCH. should. be. that.  We, as a body, are CHRIST’s  hands and feet.   and omgoodness. i just looked up on biblegateway.com  “love one another” as a means to aid in my explaination i want to tell you about how us as the church is all connected and is part of the very essence of Christ… but i think these verses speaks for themselves. (The Word is alive, afterall! :D)John 13:34“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.John 13:35By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”Romans 12:10Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves.Romans 13:8[ Love, for the Day is Near ] Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for he who loves his fellowman has fulfilled the law.Galatians 5:13You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature ; rather, serve one another in love.Ephesians 4:2Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.1 Peter 1:22Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for your brothers, love one another deeply, from the heart.okay. sorry i dont mean to dump these on you.  but when i looked it up, i literally felt like something heavy just sat on me. lol. i hadn’t realized how many times loving one another comes up. i think i’m just going to let it sit in me for a while now.(if i may add something rather irrelevant.. your title consist of two actual songs..in which i find very brilliant. unless that was what you intended to do already. 😀 ha..ha.)and did any of that make sense? >_> i just felt really convicted to share with you what God has revealed to me and encourage you!!! ask if anything confused you…. i tend to do that. not too good with projecting my thoughts into words haha XDif i didn’t answer anything up there, just know:as the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. John 15:9so its more like, as the Father has loved me, so have I loved Derek. Now remain in my love. 😀 John 15:9 personalizedddd.

Leave a Reply

