passion:ate

Tonight, I was at all-faiths listening to my friend Adrienne play piano. She and another friend Chris were having a play-date tonight just to kick back and relax by playing piano, so I decided to drop by to say hello. My “stop-n-go” turned into a one hour respite from studying where I just slouched in my auditorium-chair and listened to them talk about their favorite composers and pieces. Okay, to be honest, I didn’t understand half of what they were talking about, but I just observed them conversing back and forth, like a neverending game of Pong.  Their conversation just exuded such strong passion about the thing they both loved. The both loved the same thing and it brought them miles closer. I don’t think they realized how immersed they really were in this discussion. You know how, when you really get into something, you forget about everything else? that craving, that desire, that enthusiasm; it’s like getting a hug and never wanting to let go. Or it’s like that love-at-first-site idea when you see a girl/guy, and your infatuation drives you to the ends of the earth. For me, I imagine it’s like the moment I spot a Shipley’s donut. End of story.

to be passionate; that’s the way life is supposed to be. So my question to you; what are you passionate about?

4 thoughts on “passion:ate

  1. Fat_P3NGU1N April 29, 2010 / 1:34 am

    Welll…at the moment: God, social activism, cooking, and fried chicken. In that order.

  2. derek3134 April 29, 2010 / 1:41 am

    mine: Jesus, other foods, epic, pigs, video-related — in an alternating order. haha

  3. sparklejewel April 29, 2010 / 12:32 pm

    on the note of passion, I’ve been wanting to write a piece entitled ‘skepticism of wants.’ i got as far as about 4 different sporadic thoughts, and it’s been put off for about year.as far as my passions: school. God. investing time in friends. music. in somewhat of that order.

  4. GreatPanda May 1, 2010 / 3:40 am

    hey, that’s really cool you posted about passion. Jaeson Ma spoke at UT thursday, if you know who that is. he described passion as will, endurance, pain, suffering, struggle, joy, i can’t remember the rest. he was at UT for the 1040 documentary, pretty crazy stuff, you can’t let me forget to share with you derek!

Leave a Reply

