Day 8: 10 of your favorite songs

  1. Where is the Love? – Black Eyed Peas
    This song has a special place in my heart. I even tagged it once upon a time as evidence for a debate disadvantage link card. I think the first time I heard this song was sophomore year of high school. What made it so impacting was the fact that everything they were saying had so much truth. What do we do as believers when those who don’t even follow Christ can see the discrepancy and lack of love in the world? How do we respond when we bear the greatest gift of love ever known?
  2. Chasing – Charlie Hall
    The first worship song I ever learned. It really captured my heart and became the theme for my entire Christian walk. I have the mp3 performed by my church’s 11:11 service band. “I’m chasing after you because you first chased after me.” Praise God.
  3. Thank You – MC Jin ft. Jaeson and Corrina Ma
    Haha, if you can find it on YouTube, listen to it. If you know Cantonese and understand it, then kudos to you.  Jason’s preaching trumps Kanye’s rapping any day. I heard this song first time freshman year of high school. I remember showing it to Kwan, Shirley, and Wenet. I was supposed to try and cover it. I guess now that I have garageband, I could try.
  4. Baby King – Tim Be Told
    My favorite non-classic Christmas song. Listen to it; you won’t be disappointed. TBT manages to deliver another song that won’t be deleted from my iTunes anytime soon.
  5. Valentine – Kina Grannis
    When did I first fall in love with YouTube artists? I don’t know, but I remember the day I heard Kina’s Valentine. I remember complaining that she didn’t live in Houston. Maybe it’s the sappy hopeless romantic side of me, but this song gives me a lot of peace. Just knowing that there is love out there for everyone. It just encourages me to share and love more. Check it out if you don’t know it.
  6. Count on me – Bruno Mars (Victor Kim & Cathy Nguyen cover)
    I love victor. I love Cathy. I love that they both believe. I love their voices. Seriously, this cover was a perfect blend of harmony and mixing. I posted on a friend’s wall a lyric from this song. For that friend, I would just want to say that what this song signifies, I hope our relationship will forever represent the lyrics in the song.
  7. Who I am Hates Who I’ve Been – Relient K
    I don’t know if you know, but Relient K is my favorite band. Old and new music alike. I first heard this song sophomore year of high school. I bought the MMHMM CD. And since then, I say “mmhmm” all the time. This song reminds me a lot of what I’ve been through. All the mistakes in my life. All the mess-ups. Mostly, it reminds me how much I have to be thankful of, of the people who are still around and how much I should praise God for getting me through.
  8. Something Pretty – Patrick Park
    Have you ever watched The O.C.? If you have, you might recognize this song. FOX played this song when Seth finally jumped up on the kissing booth and kissed summer in front of all the jocks. He was brave and courageous enough to ask her to kiss him in front of everyone. Seth is my hero. Again, sappy hopeless romantic side of Derek. Forgive me. I wish I could live in a chick flick.
  9. Life is a Song – Patrick Park
    Also from The O.C. They used this song to wrap up the series finale of the show. No regrets. Life is like a song. Beginning, middle, and end. Live it.
  10. Let That Be Enough – Switchfoot
    The first time I heard this song was from a Disney ABC movie that premiered with Justin Timberlake. They played this song trying to send the message that the main characters were supposed to be together. This song is so much more than that. It isn’t about two people. “Let me know that you love me…” it’s so much about God. We strive to know this God that feels so distant at times. Sometimes we just want to know someone loves us and cares for us. We are social creatures, we are meant to be with others and be loved. No love could ever fill us like God’s grace.  “Let [God’s Grace] be enough.” 

 

Leave a Reply

