Day 9: 10 ways to win your heart

  1. Serenade me; I’ve always wanted to be serenaded. No girl has ever truly done that. Girls are lucky in that sense. Guys just pour out around them trying to win their hearts. This topic is kinda lame >.<. Since when do guys’ hearts actually get won?
  2. Be honest with me. Honestly goes a long way in building a friendship. I have a dream relationship/marriage scenario that is based solely on the idea that a stranger à acquaintance à friend à best friend à girlfriend à fiancé à wife à grave buddy. But it has to build slowly over time.
  3. Keep me accountable. Accountability is not only expected between two people but as far as building strong relationships, its also necessary. Tell me when I’m doing something wrong, and ask me to do the same for you. A lot of respect to the person who asks me to be their accountability partner.
  4. Be open-minded. I wear silly bands. I scream at the top of my lungs in the middle of the night in Simpson drill field sometimes. I will do anything for my best friends if they just ask me. In the middle of an exam, I might stop to pray. I wear only black basketball shorts and white khaki shorts. I get really excited when someone mentions high school musical. If you can’t accept me for who I am, then I can’t promise that I will show that same respect for you.
  5. Don’t give up on me. I love my friends. I really do. But I’ve also learned this year that there are friends that I eventually have to give up. I call those column twos. Those friends who are seasonal that aren’t meant to be there forever. Please, if you’re my friend at all, sometimes we might fall in and out of relation because school gets busy or ministry gets in the way. Even if you’re not in Epic and we don’t spend as much time together, don’t leave me. I know it’s already happened, and God has a plan for all that has happened, but friends are one thing that I find hard to give up. Don’t give up on us.
  6. Ask me how I’m doing every once in a while. This sounds like a selfish request, so I’m sorry. By asking me how I’m doing, it might remind me to ask you the same. It might remind me that I haven’t been showing as much love to you or any of my friends. Ask me how I’m doing to remind me to ask others how they’re doing. It’s like accountability, sorta.
  7. “Love God. Love People” – Serve somewhere. Push yourself to grow. Accountability and supportive brothers and sisters are important, but it’s more important to be motivated in serving Christ for you. God loves you, so live in a way where your life bears fruit showing how God is moving in yours.
  8. Presents: I know it makes me sound materialistic. My parents always taught me to buy what I need and nothing more/less. That’s why when it comes to food; I might push for that $30 lobster tail. Otherwise, I’m a spendthrift on unnecessary times (not a big one though). Christmas and Birthdays aren’t big at my house. Gifts aren’t really a universal idea. That makes gift giving very rare. I’ll accept any gift with great appreciation, even if I don’t show it immediately. Presents mean a lot to me.
  9. Words are one of my love languages. Basically, be able to hold a conversation with me. Especially the deep meaningful ones. I really respond to those who want to talk me. I won’t say much more about this one.
  10. Time is the other love language I use often to express care and compassion for others. The more time you spend with me, more likely I am to fall for you. Haha, not particularly the loving-relationship ‘falling’ but any friendship. If you want to spend time with me, I want to spend time with you, no matter how annoying you are. Just a thought though, if you’re a girl who intends to spend a copious amount of time with me, please do #3 from above as well. As brothers and sisters, we are called to love each other intentionally and be encouragement to one another. Time can be my best friend but it can also be disastrous. I’ve been learning that since coming to college. 

 

Leave a Reply

