Love Languages

most of you know the love languages, but for those of you who don’t, there are five of them: Words, Time, Gifts, Service, and Touch
In my own words, love languages are ways that each of GIVE and RECEIVE love and appreciation, but the ways we give love often times isn’t the same as the way we receive it (and vice versa). 

So, this past year I learned my love languages, and voila

Giving Love: I am horrible at encouraging people through words, I am not creative enough to give gifts, I do favors on a normal basis (so it feels neutral), and I don’t like touching people *cooties*. But I spend time with people. If I appreciate someone, i’ll go out of my way to spend time with them. If you ask nicely, and if I remember, I’ll explain to you why time is one of my love languages. I don’t feel comfortable putting my reasoning for ‘time’ on my blog because the reason is somewhat pretentious and haughty. Just ask me to explain “why time I spend with others may seem extremely loving to others when in actuality it isn’t much of an investment to me.” That should be a good clue to you though. 

Receiving Love: I can’t narrow it down to just one thing, but I’ll try my best to explain the top two. I DO appreciate words, time, and touch, but gifts and service are quite particular. Gifts stand out to me because growing up, I never received very many gifts. For exactly that reason, when someone offers something to me “free-of-charge”, that offering stands out to me. Reminds me of grace in a lot of ways. As for service, I was brought up with the mentality that no one will ever go out of their way to help you. Of course, as God has been teaching me, and the community of the Church has shown me, love should be given unconditionally (haha grace again). Regardless, I still feel very special when someone does something for me. 

#subtlenuance

Leave a Reply

