why I have a xanga and a wordpress, but not a tumblr

so, if you haven’t figured it out yet, for the past few days and until I run out of ideas, I will be posting the things I’ve learned in the past year. I wouldn’t never say I know everything, nor would I say my viewpoints are absolute and true, but I do wish to shed some light on certain things I’ve come to realize. I guess I’m moreso doing this for myself. In the future, I’d like to be able to find a recollection of all my thoughts from when I was younger (or the present day). So, I will use this point as my segue into the purpose of my post.

  • Having all my thoughts isolated into one blogsite that I’ve used since the early years of high school is part of the reason I keep my xanga running. Xanga has history. Someday I’m going to look back at xanga, and I’ll say, “I’m glad I can look back and read every journal entry of my life, right here.” I just can’t give this up. 
  • tumblr and some other social networking sights are just like popularity contests. Sorry, if I strike a nerve with some people who disagree with my opinion. If you know me well, you know I’m unapologetic about the things I believe. tumblr is just a record of likes and notes that people leave for you. I know this is a generalization, but in a lot of ways tumblr is just like facebook. So, why not just use facebook?
  • I like being different. I’ve grown up with the mentality disliking being compared with others. This is closely related to the previous point. 
  • keeping up with people’s posts would bother me. I know everyone around me has a tumblr, I notice. But honestly, I can’t keep up with everyone else’s life. If I signed online and my dashboard always shows 20 new posts, I wouldn’t be able to get any work done (this is more of a self limitation). 
  • Lastly, the most important point is xanga weeds out those people who really care about my life. I don’t keep up with everyone’s blogs because I believe if someone wants me to tell me something, they will call/approach me to tell me themselves. On the flipside, I don’t expect anyone to read any of my posts either, but if you go out of your way to listen to what I have to say, then I value you and have a lot more respect for you. 

There are days where I consider the potential “This is my last Xanga post” entry, moving onto something more private, more mature, but to be honest, sometimes I wish social media would disappear. i miss the days where we wouldn’t carry cell phones in our pockets and smart phones were limited to palm pilots and blackberries given only to the working white-collar class. 

Leave a Reply

