boundaries

I learned all this through experience; as you read, you’ll understand what I mean

perhaps “boundaries in relationships” would be a more appropriate name for this post. When people are dating, there are many boundaries we set. If you’re just friends then perhaps you set the boundary that you won’t spend an excessive amount of time with each other. If in that “frating” stage (Friend + unoffically dating), maybe the boundary is to limit instances where you are alone with that person. Or maybe, you’ll cut it all out and instead, you’ll opt to only spend time in groups. And for those of you who are actually dating, it’s all about limiting the physical intimacy and making sure you’re not intruding on the other’s private space. 

I’ve realized that I am very bad at keeping my own boundaries, and I’ve learned I’m not the only one who struggles with this. Thankfully, this is area of my life that God has been growing me in the past year. Praise God. 

Instead of asking myself, “How far can I go before going too far?,” I’ve begun asking myself “What can I do honor and respect the other person and God more?” It works. Try it out. 

2 thoughts on “boundaries

  1. new_lyfe May 25, 2011 / 1:07 pm

    well, one of your stronger love languages is physical touch. 

  2. l33t_S0lJ4 May 25, 2011 / 1:48 pm

    Instead of asking your self how far is too far, ask the opposite.An analogy I heard before was that going past boundaries was like holding her over a cliff, how far over can you hold her? or how far away from the cliff can you get her?I can’t remember for sure, but I think I got it from Theology of the Body. You should check it outhttp://www.amazon.com/Theology-Body-Beginners-Introduction-Revolution/dp/1934217859/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1306345516&sr=1-1orhttp://www.giftfoundationdownloads.com/nakedwithoutshame.htmlthis has about the same content as the book, just audio and free

Leave a Reply

