compliments

It’s hard to pay a girl a compliment. I mean, It’s really hard. “You look nice tonight.” “I like your shoes.” (Of course, I’m looking at this from the perspective of a guy.)

I was watching this movie called Wedding Daze (horrible acting and downward spiral storyline), and there is this part where Anderson, the main male character, is staring at the girl he’s about to marry. There’s just awkward silence. I get the feeling I know what he wants to say. “You look beautiful.” or something like that.

Later in the movie, they’re sitting in a bus and she is obviously irritated ,and he said “Oh yeah, forgot to mention it, but I thought you looked beautiful tonight.” Her reaction is anything but flattered. 

It is VERY hard to pay a girl a compliment. Not about whether she accepts it. Step one is building up the courage. Step two is to look her in the eye (hard). Step three is to say it with confidence. Most of the time, it is hard to tell whether or not she really appreciates it. I feel this vibe from the other person; I want to compliment them, but I’m not sure how it will be reciprocated. Will they appreciate the compliment. A lot of times, I’m just afraid. 

One thought on “compliments

Leave a Reply

