A letter to write to every girl

I know that you feel like no one can possibly understand the way you feel right now. You think no one has ever felt this way.  You feel alone, but I understand some of the things you’re insecure about. I understand sometimes you feel inadequate. Sometimes, you look at other girls and you see how beautiful they are, and your first thought is “I wish I could be like her.” You look around and see couples and feel like the “odd man out.” Then you wonder when your prince charming will ride up on his high horse and sweep you off your feet. But you’re not really waiting for prince charming.

But, you don’t need a prince to be beloved. You are a princess, a daughter of the King of Kings.  You are fearfully and wonderfully made.  God has made you perfectly as you are. Don’t you understand how beautiful you are?

I want to tell you, personally, that I think you are beautiful, but you probably won’t believe me. I know that sounds like platitudes.  I know it doesn’t take away the doubts you feel right now in the base of your throat and in your heart.  It doesn’t make the insecurities stop, but here this — Jesus does love you and He wants to fill that emptiness you are feeling.   Turn to Him.  Offer Him your concerns and doubts.  And He will love you like no one ever has.

and then… maybe in turn, you’ll believe me.

Leave a Reply

