Photo Tags, Instagram, Cell Phone Cameras, and Memories

I was perusing my Facebook photo tags earlier this morning, and I realized something odd – I have less photos than normal. It took only a moment for me to realize close to 400 photos were missing because I blocked someone recently, and their photo tags went with them. But, that’s not the point of this post.

What really caught my attention was a lack of photo-tags in general. I don’t know what it is, but ever since the invention of smart phones, I’ve found that there are less and less photos being taken. The once doted Canon Elph cameras that every  “cam-whore” wanted to hold in their purses are simply expensive paper weights that sit on shelves. Cameras, real cameras, only really see the light when people go on vacations, and even then, people choose to use their smart phones. The only growing market for cameras are for DSLRs; sadly, the average consumer doesn’t know how to use them. Good photography have been overshadowed by instagram filters and photogridding. And worst of all, people take photos to share with their friends what they’re doing at that moment rather than to commemorate something stupendous that happened today that you can look back on in the future. 

It’s really cultural. It’s what all my friends do, and I’m not in a position to criticize them for doing it. I have an instagram too, but I hardly use it. My facebook is flooded with tags to low quality grainy instagram photos that just nag at me. I just miss the days where photo taking was something you did for yourself, and not for others. I miss good pictures where the flash actually brightened the photo instead of highlighting dark spots with a flash-light-like flash. I wonder how many people would still record moments in their lives with their camera phones if facebook/instagram immediate sharing didn’t exist. Life was simpler even two years ago. 

I really respect one of my friends for her 365 day photo challenge. I can’t remember why she decided to start it, but I actually see life when I look through all of these posts. There is purpose, and purpose demands respect. Check it out: http://synergism.wordpress.com/tag/366-photo-challenge/

One thought on “Photo Tags, Instagram, Cell Phone Cameras, and Memories

  1. Jenny Fan January 4, 2013 / 2:58 pm

    Your post made me go back and reread my posts and I just remembered I actually had a reason for most of the photos I took!

    I know what you mean. I agree too. Instagram is an instrument of FOMO! Blogs and photos can both contribute to memories, so this blog is a great start!

Leave a Reply

