Les Miserables Review

“It’s a story about a man who steals a loaf of bread.” 

At least, that’s all Jenny Fan told me before we walked into the movie theater full of people who were older than me (no one visibly younger than 25 – doesn’t happen often). Afteward even at dinner, my mom was able recall more of the plot from her teenage studies than I was from 1 hour ago.

It was good. I wasn’t too critical of the acoustics of the theater or the musicality of the performers. I liked the movie. I thought the story moved rather fast though, and I found myself frequently thinking, “I wonder what this scene looks like on Broadway.” I guess I’ll have a lifetime to figure that out, unless of course I get sucked into seeing another  Broadway hit like “How to Succeed” *Cough*DanielRadcliffe**

One thing I got from the movie was Jean’s forgiveness of his pursuer, Javert. It reminded me a lot of David before he became king. Whenever he sang, I thought I might as well open up the Book of Psalms and have him lip-sing Psalm 139. I don’t understand why Javert committed suicide, but I’ll figure that out when I buy the Blu-ray.

Other Points: Borat/Sacha Cohen makes and excellent Thénardier. Éponine’s corset must have been super super tight because her waist was the widtch of a barbie. Young Corsette was really pretty. And Marius totally should have died from infection after falling into the sewer. 

I’ll end simply by saying this movie is the first movie that I would truly recommend people should see in theaters. Granted, blockbusters like Avengers and Skyfall take advantage of the big screen for action-packed sequences and drama, but simply put, none of them compares to the excellence of Les Miserables. 

2 thoughts on “Les Miserables Review

  1. Naomi Kuo January 6, 2013 / 12:12 am

    The movie is about grace versus legalism – Jean Valjean accepted grace and it changed his life, while Javert was likewise embittered from the start but too set in his ways to live a life built on an act of grace. One broke the law but experienced true heart change and was able to show mercy to others while the other followed the letter of the law but could not understand the spirit of the law and in the end “lost his soul” as is shown through his suicide. I’m curious as to how this narrative relates to the revolution and perhaps the ability of a whole nation to change.

    I also agree that the pace was a bit fast, even though the movie was almost three hours. For instance, I’m pretty sure the process of falling in love was a little more detailed and nuanced, haha. Still a good movie and I’m hooked on the songs!

Leave a Reply

