Answer #1

“Imagine a future moment in your life where all your dreams come true. It’s the greatest moment in your life, and you get to experience it with one person. Who’s standing next to you?”


 

You know, I thought about this question a lot these past couple of days. I feel guilty for not choosing a member of my family; I believe I would want my best friend standing next to me. I used to think you could have many many best friends, or tiers of friends. I also used to think that your best friend couldn’t be the opposite gender. Truthfully, I just want my best friend to stand beside me through the difficult times, because I know I can depend on that person. In my darkest moments, my best friend knows how to comfort me with words of encouragement, something that I don’t accept very easily. They accept my flaws and show me grace that I don’t deserve. If my best friend is there for me in the tough times, then I want my best friend to be there at the best times. Celebrating something amazing isn’t amazing unless you have someone to celebrate with. After all, I don’t think the greatest moment of my life will be a moment that I am standing alone. Life is only truly great if you have someone to share it with.

Of course, now you’re probably wondering, “Who is your best friend?” Sadly, I don’t really know if I have one anymore. I used to, but every season of life brings a new challenge. There are definitely several people around me whom I consider very close. But, I don’t think I can pick one of them today. Maybe, right now God is saying that this isn’t the time to find comfort and fellowship with a person as most significant. Maybe instead, He’s telling me to rely on His son, Jesus Christ, a man who was given over to the authorities of man to die by the authority of God to overcome the authority of sin. Maybe, Jesus is my best friend. If He would stand with me on the best day of my life, I hope that would be enough for me.

Leave a Reply

