COVID 19

Too bad its not named “COVID 20” to represent year 2020. This world has been pummeled by this year’s virus with no end in sight. Organizations are being shut down, major meetings and conferences are being cancelled, and the stock market has taken a huge beating due to the uncertainty that follows this pandemic. Personally, I feel a sense of unease not knowing when this virus will hit closer to home. The biggest event I have pulled out of is my best man’s wedding. I was slated to be his emcee for the reception, and up until 18 hours ago, I was committed to doing just that. However, after reading a couple articles including this one, I was thoroughly convinced that not attending was not only the right thing to do, but its the only thing we can do. And the only thing we can do is nothing. Honestly, it sounds and feels a lot like prayer. Sometimes when we pray, we feel like we’re doing nothing because we ask God to do work for us; we get antsy feeling like we need to take things into our own hands. But it is exactly that type of anxiety that God wants us to let go of.

Philippians 4:6-7 – Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

One of the practices that Pastor Fred has encouraged us to practice is internalizing God’s true attributes. God is just, kind, loving, gracious, merciful, ubiquitous. If I believe each trait, what does that mean about God? If I truly believe God is ___, what does that mean about me life. So, with that verse in mind, if I truly believe God will give me peace in times of anxiety, then I should make it my top priority to go to Him when I am anxious and trust that my prayers are being answered. That’s a tall order when everything around me tells me to worry or prepare or fixate on the inevitable.

As of right now my plan is to limit large group exposures, clean and sanitize, cook more, and play more tennis by myself. I trust that God has control over this whole earth including this virus, and His Glory will be shone to all people.

Leave a comment